I’m not a movie reviewer, I just play one on this blog sometimes

Monday has gotten off to a spectacular start. Through no fault of my employer, my insurance has been messed up since the beginning of December. I wasn’t too worried, even though I was going to need to refill my Zoloft mid-month; the medication is so inexpensive that my copay doesn’t even kick in. Then I realized, about two days before my medication ran out, that I had no refills left. I checked in at work about the status of our insurance; the issue was close to being resolved and I figured, at most, I’d go a few days without medication. Not ideal but not frightening. I am forgetful enough that two days without medication isn’t unheard of. (I would not recommend this as a lifestyle, especially if you have to interact with other people in any capacity whatsoever.) It’s been more than a few days at this point and when I called my insurance carrier to fax proof of coverage to my doctor so the doctor would refill my medication, I was informed that there was no active coverage for me in the system. Then when I called the doctor’s office to beg for a pity refill, I was informed that I had to see the doctor before I could get the script. Fine. I’ll pay out of pocket for the appointment and submit a reimbursement. Oh, you don’t have active insurance right now? Then we can’t see you. Before she ended the call, the receptionist told me to take care of myself.

moremiddlefingers

So after a brief stint of sobbing and pacing around the apartment, I decided to watch the last of four movies we rented from Redbox last night. Movies are a holiday tradition in my family dating back to probably when we got our first VCR. Star Wars, Indiana Jones, Harry Potter, Christmas movies (have I mentioned that when I visit them during the summer, we watch all of our Christmas movies? because we totally do.) There is nothing we love more than hanging out on the couch with blankets and a bunch of movies that half of us sleep through. It’s the best way to spend the holidays.

We lucked out with the movies we rented yesterday. We enjoyed all four of them, and the other two movies we’ve seen over the break.

Deliveryman
A surprisingly enjoyable film about fatherhood. Vince Vaughn plays the man-child perfectly (again) but this character is endearing and well-intentioned. Would recommend if you’re looking for something light and sweet and funny.

Black Nativity
I didn’t realize this was adapted from a Langston Hughes play or that it was a musical but y’all, it’s so good. Another movie about fatherhood but also about motherhood, parenthood, and all the complications therein. You will be frustrated and entertained and moved to tears and you will just sit there and marvel at JHud’s voice for the entire damn movie.

The Neighbors
I rented this with trepidation. It could’ve easily been offensive and raunchy and Feminist Killjoy could’ve been activated and I really didn’t want to have wasted money. Guess what? I didn’t waste money! I really enjoyed this movie and not just because I love Zefron, Seth Rogan, Rose Byrne, and the Hot Franco. The frat boy humor was far less cringe-inducing than I anticipated, and Rose Byrne is hilarious and gorgeous. There is an adorable baby, an incredible rager involving metal barrels and pot, and Dave Franco’s almost hilariously huge biceps.

The Skeleton Twins
The most somber of the movies we rented. It’s funny but dark in a way that only Bill Hader and Kristen Wiig can pull off. If you’ve never heard of the film, Hader and Wiig play twins (Milo and Maggie – BEST NAMES EVER) who are dealing with HUGE issues separately until life forces them to deal with those issues together. There are entire scenes in this movie where I laughed so hard I had tears in my eyes and moments later, those tears of laughter were tears of not laughter. It’s sad but I recommend it, especially if you love these two actors.

The Million Dollar Arm
It’s a baseball movie, so of course we rented it! Also, Brian Wilson participated in a pitching clinic for this program. You can see video of him with the winners here, but OMG SPOILER ALERT, YOU FIND OUT WHO WON. The movie is entertaining and enjoyable for a single viewing but probably isn’t something I’d buy for my collection. I can’t quite put my finger on it…but it was my least favorite of the movies we rented. (Also Jon Hamm spent 90% of the movie sounding like Seth Rogan.)

Maleficent
Enter the BEST. MOVIE. EVER. My cold, bitter feminist heart warmed from the opening scenes of this movies and remained warm until the final credit rolled. The tale of Maleficent parallels the life of an assault survivor. It is brave. It is fierce. It is unapologetic. Angelina Jolie is absolute perfection. She is poised and graceful, even with a splatter of mud on her sharp cheekbone. Maleficent is flawed and real, a bundle of exposed nerves after her violation. She makes rash decisions with long-reaching consequences and yet shows mercy when her attacker – a person with whom she once had an intimate relationship – refuses to treat her with any kind of respect or decency. A+ movie. Adding it to my wishlist. PLEASE WATCH THIS NOW. It’s so good.

We’ve also been rewatching Wonderfalls (a Bryan Fuller show that many hate but we LOVE); I got Sigot a new series set for her birthday since her original copy is contaminated* and no longer available. There are so many wonderful points to this show, namely a young Lee Pace and a young Caroline Dhavernas and a young Tracie Thoms and a young Jewel Staite. And numerous other guest actors that make you go “hey, it’s that guy/girl!” Also Rue McClanahan! And lines like “You’ve got some ovum coming back here.”

What have you watched over the holidays? Anything I should add to my list for this week?

*with FAMILYITIS**

**looks like FAMILY TITS

Leave a Reply

