Orlando Rojas!

Dan: Orlando Rojas.
Rebecca: I don’t know who that is.
Dan: Orlando Rojas the pitcher.
Rebecca: Oh, Orlando Rojas the pitcher.
Dan: Yes.
Rebecca: I don’t know who that is.
Dan: He’s pitching this afternoon.
Rebecca: Orlando Rojas?
Dan: Yes.
Rebecca: I don’t know who that is.
Dan: That’s hard to believe.
Rebecca: I took an elevator up 12 floors, Dan, what did you want to tell me?
Dan: I wanted to tell you that Orlando Rojas is pitching this afternoon.
Rebecca: You couldn’t tell me that on the phone?
Dan: You don’t like it when I bother you at work.
Rebecca: Hey, is it okay if I hit you in the head with this big book?
Dan: That’s Casey’s.
Rebecca: Casey, is it okay if I hit Dan in the head with this big book?
Casey: Yeah.
Dan: She doesn’t know who Orlando Rojas is.
Casey: He’s a pitcher.
Dan: He’s pitching this afternoon.
Casey: Orlando Rojas?
Dan: Yeah.
Rebecca: You guys, seriously, I’m just gonna sit down in the middle of the room and cry.
Dan: 11 years ago he pitched a perfect game.
Rebecca: A perfect game?
Dan: Yes ma’am.
Rebecca: And a perfect game is good? (Dan and Casey exchange looks)
Dan: Listen, I know there’s a lot of jargon but some of these are pretty self-explanatory.
Rebecca: I have to go back to my office. (Rebecca exits. Dan follows her.)

That’s a scene from Sports Night. One of my favorite scenes now because I was Rebecca, at one point in my life. Before I started watching baseball, I didn’t care and I thought spring training was silly and WHY ARE YOU PEOPLE SO EXCITED THEY AREN’T EVEN REAL GAMES YET.

And here I am, years later, sitting in my living room and making sure I have a good connection to KNBR so I can listen – LISTEN – to the first game of spring training on the RADIO. Lincecum is pitching, Huff is at first, and Belt is the DH. I DON’T KNOW WHAT MY FEELINGS ARE DOING.

P.S. Tim Lincecum is on Twitter now.

Leave a Reply

