A little of this, a little of that

A few thoughts before I head off to bed.

A very bad thing happened yesterday (which was also my father’s birthday, coincidentally) and I’ve been mulling it over since then. In case you were unaware, a man name Troy Davis was executed in Georgia. Regardless of the truth, a life was taken to avenge the taking of another life, and this logic doesn’t make sense to me. I don’t understand taking a life because a life was taken. I just don’t. It’s a hard thing to believe when so many horrible, soulless people walk the planet, people who don’t care about anyone or anything. It’s hard to see the light within, hard to believe that a life that values nothing is valuable to the universe. But it’s what I believe and strive to live. So I mourn the lives lost, innocent and otherwise, and do not glory in the loss of anyone. I said this a few other places online last night and I will repeat it here so it is known: if someone takes my life, do not take theirs.

**

Changing gears to baseball. Our Giants aren’t faring so well and tomorrow (Friday) is the day, more or less. Cain on the mound, a song in our hearts…or maybe just a little bit of fight buried deep down somewhere, which pushes us through to next Wednesday. We’re tired. We’re battered. We’re playing injured with lots of working parts that can’t seem to connect reliably. Electric Girl pointed out tonight that we went to four games this season, and that’s four more than last season, and that made me happy. Then we daydreamed about becoming the Giants Grannies in about 30 years, when we travel down to Arizona for spring training in our big motor home covered in Human Rights Watch, Amnesty International, and Giants bumper stickers, and we scout the players and score games and during the regular season, we take care of our boys and bake them cookies and bring them soup when they don’t feel well. WE HAVE ACTIVE IMAGINATIONS. But it sounds like a nice way to spend my later years, don’t you think?

**

At the start of last weekend, or the beginning of this week (I can’t remember), I was laying on the floor and I moved to get up. I somehow slammed my big toe into the strip that divides the flooring of our entry and the carpet, and I split my toenail in two places in the middle. It didn’t chip off though, so I removed the nail polish I had on, made sure everything looked okay, and then repainted my toenails. After spending all week making sure I didn’t snag the nail on anything, I stopped paying attention for about five seconds and ripped off that piece of toenail. It didn’t really hurt for as much as it bled. And now my toenail looks terrifying. The worst part is that I can’t wear flip-flops tomorrow because I don’t have any bandaids. Well, I do. They’re in my car. So theoretically I could. Hmm…

**

We’re nearing my favorite time of year. October-December are the best months for me. I mean, I might have a new opinion on that because now I have baseball in my life, but I really can’t imagine anything thrilling me more than impending autumn. Dappled, golden light. Rain. Cooler temperatures. The smells. The sights. The crows that gather in the trees in Midtown at dusk. Fall is wonderful here. October is right around the corner. My favorite month!

Stay well, readers. Reflect on the gifts in your life. Smile at a stranger. Hug a loved one.

Leave a Reply

